1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Thoughts of building a computer...

Discussion in 'Gaming and PC Discussion' started by Jamven, Jul 10, 2007.

1. Jamven

Jamven Headmaster DLP Supporter

In the next 3-5 months, I plan to build my own computer from the ground up. While doing research, I found that the options are endless in regrades to building a computer. I have never built one before and I was hoping to get an idea on the type of Components that I am going to need.

Seeing how it is my first time, should I go with a "barebones" kit that tigerdirect sells? Or should I go for the whole experience? I don't plan to spend much more than 2500 dollars on the complete package. I would prefer it to be much less, around 1000 dollars if possible, but I am trying to build it to last. I will spend the money if I have a good reason to, but it will take a while to complete it the higher the price tag is.

I know that I have posted a question about Windows Vista, but I want to ask a question about O.S in general. What is Linux? I have heard about it in passing, but never really paid it much mind. Would I still be able to run the games I am currently playing on Linux? How about my wireless internet card that I have, would I still be able to use it? I run firefox as my internet browser so I am not too worried about that.