1. Another story competition is beginning! (Q1 2018)

"You're bleeding on my floor."

We've moved to a quarterly format, so you really have no excuse not to participate this time.

So check out the new thread discussing scoring, rules, and other such matters in the in the Story Competitions forum and get cracking.

Dismiss Notice

Corrupt me in the ways of the fandom!

Discussion in 'Introduction Archives [Closed]' started by eldritcher, Mar 30, 2011.

1. eldritcher

eldritcher First Year

Hi, I am just getting started in HP fandom under the name Eldritcher.

I chanced upon this forum while searching for Dumbledore centric fics since I was really intrigued by his characterisation in the novels.

I am only beginning to read fanfiction in HP fandom. I am going to hunt the forums for Dumbledore-centric or Riddle-centric fics. I don't like reading too explicit content. I don't know why all the Dumbledore-fics I found so far include an angsty Snape. I am hoping to find novels set before 1960s. I liked MinervaMcTabby's Two Worlds and In Between on ff.net.

I love lengthy stories. WIPs are fine as long as they get regularly updated. Too many exclamation marks gives me a queasy feeling while reading a fic. Capitalisation puts me off.

I have started writing an AU story in HP fandom with the timeline beginning in the late 1930s. My first taste of fanfiction.net (http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6855137/1/Eldritch)was the infamous Type2 error. (Whimpers) I hope they sort it out soon because I don't know the A, B, C's of navigating that site and this error is rapidly draining my confidence levels. A friend helped me post the story by some sneak tactics and it worked. The character selection is empty, though. What a terrible start to my life in HP fandom! However, I got one precious review :D That is cause enough to celebrate in my book.

I hope to find my bearings in this forum and in the HP fandom soon!
    Eldritcher.

2. Antivash