1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Newest driver for notebook video card?

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by The Sour Kraut, Sep 9, 2008.

1. The Sour Kraut

The Sour Kraut Seventh Year

I'm not very experienced when it comes to things like this, so I hope for help from DLP.
    I want to install the latest nvidia drivers, preferably the 177.98. The problem is, I've got a mobile chipset (GeForce Go 7950 GTX) and the latest driver for that is - according to nvidia's homepage - the 175.32.
    I remember reading somewhere that it is possible to make the desktop drivers run with mobile cards - something about a *.inf file?
    Can someone enlighten me as to how to do that and whether it is even recommendable to do such?

2. Murton

Murton DJ OEM DLP Supporter

I strongly suggest against running desktop drivers on a mobile platform. They are simply not made to support mobile graphics card specifications. Mobile chips have a very large difference in design concerning lower clock speeds, different memory bandwidths, power requirements and thermal capabilities. Attempting to run a desktop version graphics driver on a mobile card will not produce any good result if it works at all.

Always use a driver intended for your specific card as they include optimizations specifically developed for the card itself.

Just to reiterate; mobile platform =/= desktop platform. Big differences between them. Bad idea if it even works at all.

3. The Sour Kraut

Thanks, Murton.