1. Another story competition is beginning! (Q1 2018)

    "You're bleeding on my floor."

    We've moved to a quarterly format, so you really have no excuse not to participate this time.

    So check out the new thread discussing scoring, rules, and other such matters in the in the Story Competitions forum and get cracking.

    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Site continually not loading

Discussion in 'DLP Feedback and Improvement' started by Sorrows, Sep 26, 2017.

  1. Sorrows

    Sorrows Professor Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    High Score:
    1,819
    So I have noticed that I am having continuing problems accessing the DLP website It seems to come and go I am not sure if the site is continually crashing but I feel there would be more talk if that was the case. It simply refuses to load the page at all. It seems to be the case across multiple devices,. Is anyone else having the problems?
     
  2. Innomine

    Innomine Unspeakable Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    New Zealand
    High Score:
    4,500
    I have not experienced anything like that.
     
  3. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw System God Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,235
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Haven't had any issues. Is this just happening for you at home, or out and about (off wifi) too?
     
  4. Sorrows

    Sorrows Professor Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    High Score:
    1,819
    Seems to happen while I am using mobile data as well. Seems to be random, sometimes it loads fine for a few days and then it goes down and the site just wont load.
     
  5. Sorrows

    Sorrows Professor Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    High Score:
    1,819
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    So this is all I get, every other website loads fine, but DLP refuses to across multiple devices/networks. Today it was only and hour or 2 but I have been locked out for days before.
     
  6. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw System God Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,235
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    That's really strange. I don't know of anyone else having the same issues.

    If you're comfortable, next time it happens, you can open chrome://net-export/ , start logging to disk, and try to open DLP. If you can capture a whole try or two where it fails like that and send me (via email, not on here!) that file I can perhaps help diagnose it further.

    Sorry, wish I had better news.
     
  7. Blorcyn

    Blorcyn Professor DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    UK
    I have this same issue, cannot access DLP on mobile data, only on wifi.

    States page cannot be loaded.

    I don't have many devices and only really use my phone, so it's quite consistent.

    Can never access DLP when I'm out and about, can always check it on my home and work wifi.
     
  8. Sorrows

    Sorrows Professor Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    High Score:
    1,819
    It was down most of the day again for me. definitely a wifi issue on my end, though pretty sure it has also happened on mobile data. Not to sure what that is all about. I will do as you suggest and PM you the results.
     
  9. Sauce Bauss

    Sauce Bauss Death Eater DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    915
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    I notw that both of you are living in the UK. Could it be an ISP issue, perhaps with the filtering systems being implemented? I've not looked into the particulars and I wouldn't expect DLP to get flagged, but it's worth checking.
     
  10. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw System God Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,235
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    That's a good observation. I also wonder if there's perhaps an IPv6 or HTTP/2 issue for some of your ISPs. forums.* is setup as both IPv6 enabled and HTTP/2 enabled. The fact that it only sometimes happens to Sorrows makes me think it's potentially a IPv6 issue.

    @Sorrows the next time you're having issues, try https://forums1.darklordpotter.net -- I've set this up to be IPv4 only. If you're still having issues, I'll setup a HTTP/1.1-only version of the site. @Blorcyn, also try forums1 on your mobile provider and let me know.
     
  11. Sorrows

    Sorrows Professor Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    High Score:
    1,819
    Hmm, I tried the link but it says the DNS server cannot be found.

    I have no idea what the rest of what you said means tbh, I'll just follow any instructions you give me.
     
  12. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw System God Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,235
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I figured you'd be asleep by this point and that'd give it time to start resolving ;). It should be good now, but may take some time to fall out of your ISP's cache.
     
  13. Sorrows

    Sorrows Professor Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    High Score:
    1,819
    Tss normal sleeping patterns are for those not at university. It's working now, I will test it the next time the normal one stops working again. Is this a permanent fix or just a temporary address?
     
  14. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw System God Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,235
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    If it fixes it for you, I'll leave it as a permanent address, otherwise I'll remove it.
     
  15. Blorcyn

    Blorcyn Professor DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah, I tried the forums 1 link on mobile data and it worked, while the usual address doesn't, as normal.
     
  16. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw System God Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,235
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Your mobile provider has a broken IPv6 configuration then. The good news is they'll have to fix it eventually -- Google, Facebook, etc. are all dual exposed IPv4 and IPv6 the same as DLP, they might just be getting lucky right now.

    I'll leave forums1 up.
     
  17. Sorrows

    Sorrows Professor Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    High Score:
    1,819
    Thanks, it seems to be working for me as well.