1. Hi there, Guest

    Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

    New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

    READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Can't post to DLP from iPhone (safari)

Discussion in 'Site Related Support' started by Innomine, Oct 1, 2015.

  1. Innomine

    Innomine Chief Warlock ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    High Score:
    4,500
    Whenever I try to post a reply to a thread, be it quick reply or normal, I get the following message: "Safari cannot open the page. The error was "The operation couldn't be completed. Protocol Error."

    This started yesterday, though I can't remember the last time I made a post using my phone. Wouldn't of been more than a week or two ago though.

    Edit: I just recently updated to iOS 9, could that have anything to do with it?
     
  2. Innomine

    Innomine Chief Warlock ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    High Score:
    4,500
    To update, I'm now getting a similar error when attempting to join the social group for the Prestige thing on my Mac Laptop.

    Here's a screenshot.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw DLP Overlord Admin DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I rolled out a different TLS cipher as the default. It seems to be better on Safari for me. Let me know if the issues persist and I'll dig more.
     
  4. Innomine

    Innomine Chief Warlock ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    High Score:
    4,500
    Test from iPhone.

    Ok, I went to edit this reply and I got the same error.

    Also, I had the same issue using the "new reply" button from my iphone earlier today at the doctors office.
     
  5. Jon

    Jon The Demon Mayor Admin DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,826
    Location:
    Australia
    Success, from iPhone.
     
  6. Cas

    Cas Sixth Year

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    England
    I'm having the same problem from my iPad using safari too. Works fine on chrome though.
     
  7. Innomine

    Innomine Chief Warlock ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    High Score:
    4,500
    Ok, now I'm having this issue on my laptop when it comes to advanced replies. (The one that opens a new page)

    Ie, I tried to quote someone, but got the protocol error on trying to submit the text.

    This is a macbook pro running el capitan. Quick replies work fine, as evidenced by this post.

    Kinda annoying.
     
  8. Genghiz Khan

    Genghiz Khan Death Eater

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Location:
    Darujistan
    I have this same problem on Safari on El Capitan. I can't send a PM either.
     
  9. redlibertyx

    redlibertyx Professor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    442
    I'm also getting this error on Safari for non-quick posts and any time I try to use the search. But eventually posts get through any I end up getting a double post.
     
  10. Dark Minion

    Dark Minion Bright Henchman DLP Supporter Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,231
    Innomine: What theme / version are you using on your iPhone right now? A standard theme or the mobile "iphone" theme (black/green on white ground) ?

    I never was able to post using the iphone theme on any device and any browser, though usually with the message:

     
  11. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw DLP Overlord Admin DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I've disabled SPDY+HTTP/2. Let me know if you see any further issues.

    As for the iPhone Skin, I'm pretty sure I know why but it isn't a quick fix. I'll see if there's any updated skins.
     
  12. Innomine

    Innomine Chief Warlock ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    High Score:
    4,500
    I use the default skin, it looks the same on my phone as it does on my desktop/laptop.

    Quoting this post, if this works then I can post on my laptop again. Edit: Yup, fine from my laptop. I'll try from my phone at some point soon.
     
Loading...