1. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Q4 II 2019 Flash Story Competition

Prompt: Magical Fairytales
    Length: 800 - 1.2k
    Get Writing Folks!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Europe/UK Travel Suggestions

Discussion in 'Real Life Discussion' started by Nazgus, Jan 20, 2019.

1. Nazgus

Nazgus Supreme Mugwump DLP Supporter DLP Gold Supporter

Hey everyone,

I'm studying abroad at the University of Manchester this semester and want to ask for advice on places to go things to do around the UK and Europe. I'm taking a pretty light course load, so I plan to travel around the country on the weekends but know very little about the UK so I'd love suggestions on where to go throughout the semester.

In terms of Europe, I have a massive break from April 5th to the 29th. Apparently it's supposed to be time for revision, but as mentioned I'm taking an easy course load so I should be able to set aside a large chunk of it for travel. In terms of what I want out of my travels, historical places and museums are the two main draws. Coming from the USA, everything in Europe seems so old that I'd love to just soak it in.

Also a big fan of hiking, so anywhere with good places for day hikes would be appreciated as well!

2. Sorrows

Sorrows Queen of the Flamingos Moderator DLP Gold Supporter

I you like to hike you can get up to Edinburgh pretty easially from Manchester by train and then go hiking in the Highlands. There's lots of lochs and rolling moors and old crumbled castles and little villages to see.

Edinburgh will definitely fill your quota for old as hell, whole place looks like Hogwarts.

Just go towards the summer. It gets dark up there by about 3pm in the winter.

3. cucio

cucio Fourth Year

High Score: