1. Fanfic Competition -- Topic -- HOGWARTS DAYS

    Word count? 500-17500 words!

    Due date? October 2nd! CLICK HERE! write now!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

    Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

    New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

    READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

nvlddmkm

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Drake, Dec 16, 2007.

  1. Drake

    Drake Seventh Year

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Maryland
    This is getting very annoying. Those who have experienced it should know exactly what I'm talking about. Nvlddmkm is a driver that just loves to fail at the most crucial points when I'm in the middle of something.

    I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this problem, and if so knows how to fix it.
     
  2. Xiph0

    Xiph0 Yoda Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,485
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    West Bank
    ProTip: Stop using Vista.
    Link
     
  3. Drake

    Drake Seventh Year

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Maryland
    I can't get this fix to work. When I type in the EXPAND.EXE phrase into the cmd it claims it cannot open the output file nvlddmkm.sys. So what am I doing wrong?
     
  4. SmileOfTheKill

    SmileOfTheKill Magical Amber

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    Florida, Sigh...
    Was happening to my Geforce 7900 card on Vista.
    Installed XP. Fixed.
     
  5. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw DLP Overlord Admin DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,370
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    1) Did you rename the old file first?
    2) Are you running this as administrator?
     
  6. yak

    yak Moderator DLP Supporter Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,999
    Location:
    Australia
    You fail at the Google.

    http://www.eggheadcafe.com/software/aspnet/29415832/display-driver-nvlddmkm-s.aspx

    The same forum thread in a different format - http://help.wugnet.com/vista/Display-Driver-nvlddmkm-stopped-responding-FIX-ftopict36267.html

    There are some potentially useful ideas at the end of the thread.

    Also, check the nVidia forums. http://forums.nvidia.com/

    Search for nvlddmkm - There are a lot of threads on this issue. A certain amount of stick shaking, bone throwing, chicken sacrificing voodoo seems to be a requirement of any solution.

    Try these also. http://www.nvidia.com/object/windows_vista_hotfixes.html

    Good luck.

    There. Fixed that for you.

    Yak
     
  7. Myst

    Myst Headmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,188
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Glassboro, NJ
    Lol, I only got this error AFTER I installed this Linksy USB ethernet converter because I have a bad ethernet card and I never had the time to fix it until now.

    Translation, I never had this problem from when I got my laptop (Vista with a Nvidia GeForce Go 7300 in June. I played a lot of D2, Sims 2, Morrowind, Rise of Nations: Legends and SC on it from June until October and never got the problem. I got the error in October when I installed that stupid converter.

    Lately though, this error seems to have vanished.... not sure if my updated drivers fixed it or not.... or if Im lucky. Either way, Im getting a new card this week so if for some reason it comes back after a 2-3 absence... it should go away.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2007
  8. Drake

    Drake Seventh Year

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Maryland
    Thank you xiph0 and yak. Now I just have to wait and see if the problem ever happens again.
     
  9. Drake

    Drake Seventh Year

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Maryland
    Well, it happened again. And it seems to be coming a lot more often now. Has there been any new methods of trying to fix this error, or am I screwed?
     
  10. yak

    yak Moderator DLP Supporter Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,999
    Location:
    Australia
    Upgrade to Windows XP. Seriously.

    29% of Windows Vista crashes caused by NVIDIA drivers

    Nvidia drivers named as lead Vista crash cause in 2007

    Vista + Nvidia = Gay Fail.

    ATI drivers were responsible for 9.3% of crashes, but perhaps their market share for new Vista mcahines is much lower. Or they simply have less sucky Vista drivers. Dunno.

    This isn't a semi tongue-in-cheek joke anymore. Move to XP at least until the situation with Nvidia's Vista drivers is sorted out. Or you can just live with it.

    Yak.
     
  11. Drake

    Drake Seventh Year

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Maryland
    Alright, thanks for the advice. I'll see what I can do.

    EDIT BY MODERATOR: GO BUY XP. AND DON'T ASK FOR ILLEGAL WAREZ YOU FUCKING RETARD.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2008
  12. Amerision

    Amerision Galactic Sheep Emperor DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,541
    Location:
    The Gardens in the Desert Sand
    OH NOE SIR> GET UBUNTU

    [​IMG]

    IT'S FREE AS DIRT.
     
  13. Hari Seldon

    Hari Seldon Groundskeeper DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Georgian bay
    I Re upgraded to windows xp lol.

    Vista was made of fail when i installed it... I could never get the sound to work properly. Always fucked up hardcore for no reason.
     
  14. yak

    yak Moderator DLP Supporter Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,999
    Location:
    Australia
    That sounds more like an audio hardware manufacturer's problem. I don't know who your audio manufacturer is, but Creative's audio drivers were (still are?) absolute rubbish on Vista. 100% Creative's fault iirc.
    Yeah, let's all switch to Ubuntu 'cos Linux doesn't have any driver problems.

    No drivers = No driver problems? Ohnoes!

    Yak.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2008
  15. mbond98

    mbond98 Seventh Year

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Party Time
    Yak, I hope you come to find your inner Tux. See the light.

    Theres Cedega, which allows you to play Microfeces games on Linux. There are also, yak, drivers for whatever printer/projector/whatever you need to use.

    EDIT:
    Agreed to Yak's post below.

    P.S. Cedega is just an elaborated WINE.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2008
  16. yak

    yak Moderator DLP Supporter Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,999
    Location:
    Australia
    If I was going to use Linux for gaming right now, I'd probably go with the WINE-based CrossOver Games before I used Cedega. WINE is getting better and better at running Windows games, but is still being brought to it's knees in high end Direct3D (DX9c).

    I've been glancing at the state of Linux gaming on a semi-regular basis for years. Phoronix has been my main source for the past year:

    Ubuntu 7.10 + WINE vs. Windows XP
    11 Versions Of WINE Benchmarked

    These articles give me hope, but ultimately show that Linux just isn't there yet.

    80% of what I do with the PC could be done equally well in both Windows and Linux, but why should I support two different OSes just because one of them can't adequately manage the last 20%? I can't see me moving to Vista in the near future, and XP is going to keep on receiving MS security updates until 2014 iirc, so I won't be motivated to move my primary OS to Linux any time soon.

    If I want to set up a file server or mythTV box, then I'll be using Linux. Portal and GTA IV? Windows XP.

    Yak.