1. Hi there, Guest

    Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

    New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

    READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Password for boot-up?

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by BloodRedSword, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. BloodRedSword

    BloodRedSword High Inquisitor DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    A place where we had caned American
    Hey, I'm wondering if it is possible for my comp to have password so it can boot up? What I mean is that when I press the on button on my comp, a screen shows up and demands a password before it even begin to run the Windows?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Rahkesh Asmodaeus

    Rahkesh Asmodaeus THUNDAH Bawd Admin DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,126
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Uh, yeah, Windows XP?

    Go to control panel, and then go to User Accounts. Click the User Account that you want to password protect, and go to Change My Password. As simple as that.
     
  3. nonjon

    nonjon Alumni Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,129
    I think he's talking more like a password in the BIOS, before Windows is even started or anything boots up. And yes, it's possible but I think it depends on your motherboard. If you don't know that password, you'll need to look up the make and model of mobo, and move a jumper to reset BIOS passwords. Or pull out the CMOS battery on the board. Depends on your mobo.
     
  4. yak

    yak Moderator DLP Supporter Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,999
    Location:
    Australia
    If your BIOS has an option for a Boot Password, then use that. A lot don't have one though. You can see if you have a Boot Password option by accessing the BIOS setup screen next time you boot the system.

    Accessing the BIOS:
    http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/bios_manufacturer.htm
    http://www.ozzu.com/ftopic20188.html

    If the reason you want to lock it at the hardware level is to stop people running boot discs and unauthorised operating systems before Windows loads, then simply: Access your BIOS, Disable "Boot from CD" "Boot from LAN" "Boot from USB" "Boot from floppy diskette" "Boot from ext. HDD" and anything similar. Add a BIOS password (aka Supervisor Password) at the same time so that no one else can change the BIOS.

    That way you don't have to type in a password every time you boot the system.

    DON'T FORGET THE PASSWORD. There WILL come a time when you will want to boot from a CD or a floppy disk. Too bad if you can't remember your BIOS password to change your boot up options.

    Nothing is 100% secure though. It's quite possible to reset all of the BIOS passwords if you know what you're doing and can crack open the PC case.

    Yak.

    btw. Does anyone know if you can password protect the boot loader instead? Maybe BloodRedSword doesn't care about external drives etc.
     
  5. SushiZ

    SushiZ Auror

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Island of Time
    My old laptop had that function, shortly before windows starts, there is usually a setup button when you restart the computer. If you press that, you come up to the basic setup and there should be a password tab where you can enter and HDD password.
     
  6. Kenshkrix

    Kenshkrix DA Member DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Nowhere, California
    I have a key on my power supply ftw.
     
  7. Murton

    Murton DJ OEM DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,270
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    All motherboards for the last decade at least have BIOS and BOOT password features.

    You can password protect the BIOS setup and stop the computer from going past the initial BOOT screen if you so desire.

    The shortcut key to the BIOS setup screen is usually <DEL> and it usually shows this as such during the boot process. Easy to find how to do it.
     
  8. BloodRedSword

    BloodRedSword High Inquisitor DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    A place where we had caned American
    Thanks guys!
     
  9. pieman3141

    pieman3141 First Year

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    The BIOS can be reset via taking out the CMOS battery for 6-8 hours. Remember this if you've forgotten your password.
     
  10. yak

    yak Moderator DLP Supporter Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,999
    Location:
    Australia
    There's a jumper on my motherboard which instantly resets the BIOS after removing the CMOS battery. I think most boards have this. Waiting 6-8 hours would be a pain.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. BloodRedSword
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,045
  2. Relic
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,185
  3. Vir
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,902