1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Recommendation Engine for FF.net

Discussion in 'Fanfic Discussion' started by JordanL, Nov 24, 2010.

1. JordanL

JordanL Third Year

Hey all,

I'm a web developer by day, and I was becoming frustrated with navigating long lists in forums, and long filters on ff.net trying to find some new stuff.

So, I came up with an idea.

Lots of people favorite a story. As an author, you get to see people who have favorited one of your stories, but what if there was a tool that let you backreference favorites and then suggest stories based on people who have favorited similar stories?

For example: say I wanted to find suggestions for stories similar to my own fic... The Day Harry Potter Died. What if it would look at a list, see who had favorited THAT story, then gave me a list of the most common OTHER favorites among those people?

That's what I've been doing. Unfortunately, this is all unofficial, which means I don't have access to the ff.net database, which means I wrote a spider that went out and indexed over 1,500 users' favorites (over 370,000). This list is obviously far from complete, and while it will have fics from all fandoms, its Naruto/HP heavy as that's where I started.

So why am I posting this here?

I would like to get your feedback.

The tool can be found here... You will need to story id number for your reference story. Using my example, I'd put in the ID for The Day Harry Potter Died (5645536) into the box and hit go, which would give me this list.