1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Symbolism in the Schools?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Averis, Apr 4, 2007.

1. Averis

Averis Don of Delivery ~ Prestige ~

High Score:
    I had a random thought about the Harry Potter series today and ever since it has been bothering me. This may have been discussed before somewhere, but I'm relatively new to this, so please don't curse me too strong if this has come up before:

In fanfiction it seems that Durmstrang is often portrayed as a school for Dark wizard-kind or at least a strong promoter of Pure-blooded wizardry. Yet in GoF out of all the fine young hunnies Hogwarts has to offer, he asks a muggleborn witch with a strong pro-muggleborn stance to the Yule Ball.

Then it hit me; could it be possible that each school has a dominant view on bloodlines?

Durmstrang, a school with a Death-Eater as headmaster and which apparently teaches many Pure-blood wizards, out of which many become Dark wizards. So this school is pre-dominantly Pure-blood.

Beauxbatons, a school that has a Half-giant for a headmaster and their most popular witch is a quarter-Veela. This school seems to be a safe haven for people of mixed blood and presumably Half-bloods and Muggleborns.

Hogwarts is the school that will take all sorts be it Remus Lupin with his furry little problem, or Hagrid the half-giant wizard, or Hermione Granger the muggleborn witch, or Draco Malfoy and his wealthy, Pure-blooded attitudes.