1. Hi there, Guest

    Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

    New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

    READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Unable to load some websites

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Tehan, Aug 20, 2013.

  1. Tehan

    Tehan Avatar of Khorne DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,742
    For the past few days some websites have failed to load entirely, including Green Man Gaming and Wikipedia. Tried disabling virus scanners and firewalls, using different browsers, flushing DNS cache, using different DNS servers, accessing the websites via their IP, rebooting everything, lowering MTU size, and pretty much every bit of computer voodoo I can dig up via Google.

    Everything loads normally if I use a proxy.

    Ping results:

    ping en.wikipedia.org

    Pinging wikipedia-lb.eqiad.wikimedia.org [208.80.154.225] with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 208.80.154.225:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    Tracert:

    C:\Users\Matthew>tracert en.wikipedia.org

    Tracing route to wikipedia-lb.eqiad.wikimedia.org [208.80.154.225] over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 3 ms 2 ms 1 ms RTA1025W.home [192.168.1.1]
    2 72 ms 81 ms 74 ms syd-sot-ken2-bras2-lo20.tpgi.com.au [10.20.21.19
    9]
    3 36 ms 35 ms 40 ms syd-sot-ken2-csw2-tg-3-1.tpgi.com.au [202.7.214.
    29]
    4 31 ms 31 ms 31 ms syd-sot-ken-crt2-Te-0-3-0-7.tpgi.com.au [202.7.2
    14.165]
    5 236 ms 236 ms 236 ms te0-0-0-19.ccr22.lax04.atlas.cogentco.com [38.10
    4.210.53]
    6 237 ms 237 ms 240 ms be2020.ccr22.lax01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.88
    .17]
    7 236 ms 240 ms 237 ms te0-1-0-2.ccr22.sjc01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .2.150]
    8 236 ms 236 ms 236 ms be2047.ccr21.sjc03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.5.
    114]
    9 239 ms 235 ms 235 ms tiscali.sjc03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.13.14]
    10 * * * Request timed out.


    The only answer I can think of for what could be causing this is bogon filtering (which has been a problem with my ISP in the past, apparently) but as far as I can tell my IP is not in the bogon filter list.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Photon

    Photon Order Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Location:
    Poland
    Maybe a bit extreme - but have you tried what happens if you start from some standard live CD?

    Is it possible for you to reinstall system in reasonable time (say - below 2 hours)?
     
  3. CosmosGravitation

    CosmosGravitation Professor

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    413
    Possibly a MAC address problem. Try going into your router settings, making the MAC address user defined, and change a few characters. Don't forget to reboot and reset your modem afterwards.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2013
  4. Tehan

    Tehan Avatar of Khorne DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,742
    @Bulwersator: Not even remotely. I'll probably lose my shit eventually and do that if the problem continues but that's pretty last resort.

    @CosmosGravitation: As far as I can tell the router's had some functionality locked - all the changeable settings that should be there aren't. Dropped a line to my ISP asking them about it.
     
  5. Photon

    Photon Order Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Location:
    Poland
    Can you try accessing Internet using your other computer, your friend's computer, from mobile or any other device? This may allow to check whatever it is problem with computer or is to with router/ISP/whatever else.

    And if you end reinstalling system - it may be a good idea to make disk image of clean configured system with installed programs. I made something like this and thanks to this I can reinstall system within one hour.
     
  6. Tehan

    Tehan Avatar of Khorne DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,742
    After everything I tried to fix it, it fixed itself. Fucking hell.

    I blame my ISP.
     
  7. enembee

    enembee The Nicromancer DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Murias
    High Score:
    2,451
    Yeah, that happens for me from time to time, your ISP is to blame. According to mine they're 'temporary routing issues'. Whatever the fuck that means. Probably the NSA keeping tabs on me D:
     
Loading...