1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Dresden Law

Discussion in 'Fanfic Discussion' started by Heather_Sinclair, Jul 14, 2008.

1. Heather_Sinclair

Heather_Sinclair Chief Warlock

I was going to start a "Avoiding Dresden Cliches" thread for the purpose of helping myself mostly as I'm fairly new to the universe having just recently finished the latest book. But then the more I thought about it the more I was equating the thread to the "Potter Law's."

http://forums.darklordpotter.net/showthread.php?t=8086&highlight=Potter+Law

So, can we help the writers out there that want to populate the Dresden threads and avoid cliches, bad plots, crappy characterizations, overused ideas, etc.? In other words, what are the cliches for Dresden and how do we avoid them?

I'm sure there are a number of Potter Laws that can be directly pulled over here with a couple of name changes so that might be a decent place to start.

Such as:

I.
    If you think you have an excellent and original idea for Dresden, step back and meditate.​

II.
    The Staff and Blasting Rod are tools capable of bringing either chaos or order to any situation. A weapon of powerful magnitude, they are the signature of any Wizard – a symbol, if you will. See if you can’t have Dresden spend more than five minutes creating a new one when the old one breaks.​

III.
    Harry Dresden is not gay. He has been shown in the books to enjoy the attention of a woman. Let's keep it that way.