1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Building A PC

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by AntiChrist, Apr 4, 2010.

1. AntiChrist

AntiChrist Professor

Well, I've been inspired by recent posts and a failing laptop to try my hand at building a PC. I've never done anything like this before, so any advice or recommendations for parts would be helpful.

I am working with around 1.5k max, but I want to try and get both parts for the PC and a decent laptop/netbook for mobile purposes. I won't be doing anything extremely intensive; it's mostly going to be for web browsing, media and maybe some light gaming as in LoL or such.

Any suggestions?
    Thanks

2. Shezza

Shezza Renegade 4 Life DLP Supporter

Where abouts are you? 1.5k is a lot different here in Australia than it is in the US. Well...tbh it's not at the moment but you get my drift.

Frankly, for web browsing, playing videos and light gaming, you only need half of that- if not less. If you set aside 400$ for a netbook, give yourself $100 to go play in a strip club and spend the rest on your PC you'll still get something good.

With an Core i3s or i5s, at least 3gig of DDR3, 1TB Hard Drive, a mid-range nVidia or ATI card (about 200), a motherboard, case and PSU, that's prob. about $800 AUS. Throw in $200 if you want a legitimate OS and get Windows 7 Home Premium and you have your machine.

It really all depends on who you can buy it from. If you're in US, newegg is apparently really good.

3. AntiChrist

AntiChrist Professor