Dark Lord Potter Forums
Go Back   Dark Lord Potter Forums > Support > Tech Support
Donate Register Rules Library List IRC Chat FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Donate to DLP PatronusCharm Banner

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 06:47 AM   #61
kaleironfist
First Year
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Castiel View Post
Okay, I don't really have any plans right now. But if I were to decide to start using 3 screens, will this be sufficient? Since I might or might not do it. Can I buy this one now, and if/when I decide to use 3 screens, attach another another one in SLI? Will that be enough?

Like I said, I prefer ASUS, so for now, going with:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131830 that coleam suggested.
Yes you can add a 670 at any time and performance should be enough, though that motherboard will have no expansion slots left if you do SLI.
kaleironfist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:28 AM   #62
KaiDASH
Order Member
 
KaiDASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 451
DLP Supporter Donor Star
if you think you are going to go 3 screens, get an equivalent ati card, (single) nvidia cards are only good for 1 or 2 screens.
__________________
KaiDASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:20 AM   #63
kaleironfist
First Year
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Posts: 52
You'd be wrong, the 600-series graphics cards from Nvidia allow up to 4 screens.
kaleironfist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:14 AM   #64
Beonid
Fifth Year
 
Beonid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne
Gender: Male
Posts: 198
DLP Supporter Donor Star
Doesn't mean they're good at it. Nvidia's Surround technology is software based rather than hardware. ATI Eyefinity, for all its bugs, is still more efficient.

Also, Arma III is looking amazing, so I reckon you'll need at least a 670 to run it on full settings. 670 is also good choice if you want the potential upgrade path to two 670s in SLI.
__________________
Quote:
You have two options. Wait until I leave and try to murder Abigail - but then Iíll come back. Iíll slay every lice-ridden peasant, anything that moves and canít climb a tree. Or you can try to live honorable lives, clear your conscience, and start again. The choice is yours.
Beonid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:08 PM   #65
coleam
Unspeakable
 
coleam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lawrence, KS
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 835
If you think you might need expansion cards for anything (wireless, additional USB ports, firewire, whatever), then the AsRock board I suggested would be the better choice. With the ASUS board, you only have three expansion slots, and the third will be covered by your second graphics card if you do SLI in the future. The AsRock will still have a few open. Also, AsRock was formerly ASUS's budget brand, which has since spun off into making its own high-end boards, so they're still sorta ASUS...

Regarding graphics cards, two 670s should be more than enough to run three screens, though Kai and Beonid are right - AMD Eyefinity is the superior multi-monitor solution. Doesn't mean that NVidia Surround is useless or unworkable though, and the NVidia cards are superior to the AMD cards for less money.
__________________
I have seen eternity, I swear.
But it was in a dream, and in the morning, all was gone.

coleam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:41 PM   #66
Castiel
Headmaster
 
Castiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: India
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,015
Ok, let us switch the motherboard to http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157295

If I were to go for AMD/ATI, which card would be equivalent to the 670?
__________________
Castiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:00 PM   #67
coleam
Unspeakable
 
coleam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lawrence, KS
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by Castiel View Post
If I were to go for AMD/ATI, which card would be equivalent to the 670?
The 7970. It'll be about $30-$70 more, depending on which one you get.
__________________
I have seen eternity, I swear.
But it was in a dream, and in the morning, all was gone.

coleam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 01:49 AM   #68
Castiel
Headmaster
 
Castiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: India
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by coleam View Post
The 7970. It'll be about $30-$70 more, depending on which one you get.
Which one would you suggest? Money's not really a problem right now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beonid View Post
Doesn't mean they're good at it. Nvidia's Surround technology is software based rather than hardware. ATI Eyefinity, for all its bugs, is still more efficient.

Also, Arma III is looking amazing, so I reckon you'll need at least a 670 to run it on full settings. 670 is also good choice if you want the potential upgrade path to two 670s in SLI.
Same as above. If I decide to stick with 670, which one is good?

Also, I am thinking of posting the final rig I decide on on some hardware forum(s), since I will be getting parts from half-way around the world I don't want to get something bad/incompatible. Any suggestions (on the forums)?
__________________
Castiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 03:30 AM   #69
coleam
Unspeakable
 
coleam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lawrence, KS
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by Castiel View Post
Which one would you suggest? Money's not really a problem right now.
The 670 beats the 7970 at lower resolutions (up to 1080p), but gets edged out past that. If you know for certain that you'll be gaming on multiple monitors before the time comes to upgrade your graphics, then the 7970 is the way to go. It's got more VRAM (3 GB vs 2 GB on the 670), and Eyefinity is superior to NVidia Surround.

Quote:
Also, I am thinking of posting the final rig I decide on on some hardware forum(s), since I will be getting parts from half-way around the world I don't want to get something bad/incompatible. Any suggestions (on the forums)?
I used to be pretty active on the Toms Hardware forums, and they're pretty good for getting advice. Just follow the directions in the first sticky.
__________________
I have seen eternity, I swear.
But it was in a dream, and in the morning, all was gone.

coleam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 08:45 AM   #70
Shadowfox
Muggle
 
Shadowfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
DLP Supporter Donor Star
I just built a new gaming rig with the gigabyte windforce 670 oc and all I can say is you can't go wrong with it. It's extremely quiet (atleast to me) and runs all the games I play on the highest setting. Well worth the money spent!
Shadowfox is offline   Reply With Quote


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2005 - 2011 Darklordpotter.net. All rights reserved.
No personal intellectual property on this site may be used without the credit and express permission of the respective authors.