1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Getting a new PC

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Castiel, May 19, 2012.

1. Castiel

Castiel Headmaster

So, my current PC is a little over 2.5 years old and I got about 1800 USD to drop on a new one. I will be buying it around mid June so that leaves me with over a month to decide.

I am not good with hardware. My current PC (assembled) while not outright malfunctioning isn't that great in terms of hardware compatibility. So thinking of taking the other route, I am currently looking at Lenovo Ideacentre All-in-one B520. Or the soon to release B540P or A720.

My main priority is gaming. Everything else is a plus. I prefer Intel to AMD.

Any suggestions? Should I stick to assembled PC instead?

Also, I am about 90% sure on a PC, but I might chose to go for a laptop instead since I do not have one right now.

2. Trig

Trig Unspeakable

If your main priority is gaming I'd really advise against a laptop. Sure, you can use one to play games, but anything beyond mobas and you're going to run into severe heating problems.

And for 1800 bucks you can easily assemble a rig of beastly proportions.

Current part-guide

No idea how good those Lenovos are, but I'm pretty confident in saying that with that amount of cash any PC you build yourself is going to outshine those preassembled ones.

Just something I quickly threw together:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks