1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Looking for advice on building a home network/server

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by bob eddy, Nov 10, 2016.

1. bob eddy

bob eddy First Year

I'm looking for some advice on the kind of specs I need in a home server. I'm new to the whole building a computer thing so any and advice would be appreciated.

What I'm going to use it for: to back up my other computers (with some kind of network attached storage? My wife does photography so she fills up her computers hard drive frequently), to stream movies from something like Netflix to my tv, and possible a tv tuner.

I have a couple of old laptops that I think I can scavenge most of the parts off of besides the hard drives so I'm not really thinking about budget right now and from what I've researched it shouldn't be too expensive besides the hard drives anyway.

2. Dias

Dias Squib

So, i have Just one Word for you, since im not an expert, but use Linux man, Linux. The best OS for a server

3. ChronicallyInsane

ChronicallyInsane Second Year

holy shit, I had a reply all typed up because linux is my jam, then I looked at the post date. This isn't the worst necro I've seen, but it's impressive nonetheless.

4. Genghiz Khan

Genghiz Khan Headmaster

Welp. Dat necro.

Edit: ninja’d

5. Dias

Dias Squib

Omg, i cant believe this is happening. I'm laughing so hard right now

6. Agent

Agent High Inquisitor DLP Supporter

High Score: