1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Tablet PC Recommendations

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by Mage, Nov 26, 2011.

1. Mage

Mage Chief Warlock DLP Supporter

Well, my laptop is about to give out after a long life so it's time for me to get a new one. I really like the idea of a table for the ability to use it as an e-reader, but I don't think I would be able to use it to type my notes in class without a real keyboard. Thus, tablet PC's seem like they might be a good answer. I've never used one before though and was wondering if anyone had any impressions of them. My budget is ~$500 USD, though I could go a bit higher if absolutely necessary.

The two that I'm currently looking at are the DELL Inspiron Duo and the ASUS Eee PC. They both seem to be getting around 4/5 stars on average and both seem to have some pros and cons associated with them.

The other option I suppose would be a new laptop and a Kindle Fire. But, I would need to keep the price in the $500 range anyway, and it doesn't seem quite as convenient. Any help is much appreciated.

2. Rumbleroar

Rumbleroar Seventh Year

Rather interested in this myself. Been looking at a Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1, myself (without a carrier, just going WiFi).

Though, the ones Elvin listed look they are better overall at the same price. Trying to figure out why someone would go for an iPad or Android tablet when those exist.

Advice?

3. enembee

enembee The Nicromancer DLP Supporter

High Score:
    Let me just straighten something up here: