1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

New Build

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by Ched, May 5, 2017.

1. Ched

Ched Da Trek Moderator DLP Supporter ⭐⭐

It will be a few weeks before I go in for a build, so... yeah, I think this is a little early to start a thread. Usually it's best to be READY to build before planning things out, but this is more of a question/suggestions thread for me.

I've been using my current rig since Feb 2011. In that time I've only replaced the GPU once (to a GTX 580) and the hard drives (to a 250 gb SSD and a 4 tb storage drive). Still running a AMD x4 965 BE.

The rig above still does everything it needs to do. It will still be nice to upgrade, however. The plan will be to once again use this rig for around 6 years, upgrading the GPU at around the halfway mark (after 3 years).

I wanted to get thoughts on a few things:

Ryzen (AMD) versus Kaby Lake (Intel)
    I lean heavily towards Ryzen here when comparing similar prices (Ryzen 1700 versus Intel 7700k). Gaming is not a priority for me - again, see above how my current POS machine is good enough for the games I play.

But in the future I want to try and edge my way into doing more with photoshop, possibly screwing with video rendering, etc. But if both perform well enough for games it's been my impression that Ryzen will edge out Intel in most other areas (leaving Intel as the king for games).