1. Another story competition is beginning! (Q1 2018)

    "You're bleeding on my floor."

    We've moved to a quarterly format, so you really have no excuse not to participate this time.

    So check out the new thread discussing scoring, rules, and other such matters in the in the Story Competitions forum and get cracking.

    Dismiss Notice

Changing Font Size

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by Jamven, Jun 1, 2008.

  1. Jamven

    Jamven Headmaster DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Location:
    Hunting Bullwinkle's assassin
    I had a problem while reading Cosa Nostra.

    I have to use the +/- functions while reading to increase the font size to be able to read.

    The first two chapters of the above story, the function seems to broke. All it does is make the white space between the chapter box selector and the solid light blue header(?) increase.

    Once I get to the 3rd chapter the font explodes on my screen and I have reduce the font size... Chapter 4-6 will drop the formating and 7-8 will pick it back up.

    I remember this happening when I had Firefox 2 running and it is doing the same thing on Firefox 3rc1. I have yet to try it in IE, i'll give it a try and edit in the results in a few minutes.

    *edit*
    It is doing the same thing in IE.

    *edit 2*
    Attached is a SS from IE showing the blue bar thingy I was talking about. The only difference with it in FF is that spans across the whole screen.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2008
  2. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw System God Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,236
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I'm not quite sure how it was managed, but somehow some ids in the divs survived the filtering process, and corresponded to actual CSS elements, thus breaking the page.
     
  3. Jamven

    Jamven Headmaster DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Location:
    Hunting Bullwinkle's assassin
    I can't remember the stories, but I remember at least two more having the same problem as I described in the OP. I am not sure how much that little bit of information helps you...

    *helpful edit?*
    I just ran it through the W3 HTML validator and it came up with the following results...
    I also ran chapter 3 through it as well only got one error...

     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2008
  4. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw System God Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,236
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    That's my point. Somehow the divs retained their ids which helpfully messed up the page. Removing them will quite easily fix it. I just have to fix the HTML filter.