Computer reboots Everytime I play a Steam game

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Invictus, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. Oz

    Oz UNQUESTIONABLY THE MOST HETERO MAN IN THE WORLD Moderator DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    8,762
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Baile Átha Cliath
    Has it crashed since you enabled them?
     
  2. Invictus

    Invictus Fourth Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,219
    Location:
    Cidade Maravilhosa
    Yeah. Twice. I ran the program twice, just after each crash .
     
  3. Sacro

    Sacro Seventh Year

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Germany
    I mean it's pretty obvious you won't find crashdumps, since you don't bluescreen but the pc rather shuts off immediately. As some people already said that immediate shutdown is usually one of 2 things: overheating (download HWInfo and check temps during benchmarks to check), or defective hardware, usually the PSU.

    You don't happen to have someone around who can lend you his PSU for a couple of hours so you can install that and see if it happens with it as well?
     
  4. carl

    carl Slug Club Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Have you recently updated your firmware to fix the Spectre/Meltdown issues? I've also been having crashes recently (GPU hanging/memory corruption) with Youtube videos/Games etc.
     
  5. Invictus

    Invictus Fourth Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,219
    Location:
    Cidade Maravilhosa
    Don't think so?

    Also. Ran a benchmark and things were at a 57°C before it crashed. Like just after, it crashed .
     
  6. Sacro

    Sacro Seventh Year

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Germany
    57°C was the GPU I assume? What about the CPU? Anyways, if nothing is reaching about 90-100°C, temperature won't be the issue, which leaves a defective component as the most probable cause - especially the PSU. Only real way to test this though is to put a different PSU into your PC and see if it continues crashing.

    Also, carl was refering to a BIOS/UEFI update against Spectre, since the (now no longer offered) updates were causing system restarts for Intel platforms.
     
  7. Invictus

    Invictus Fourth Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,219
    Location:
    Cidade Maravilhosa
  8. Harry_J_Potter

    Harry_J_Potter Second Year

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Yeah, PSU looks more an more likely cause. Do you have a spare? Last thing you can do is try runnig a linux system off an usb and running same games through Wine. (If you know how to do that). If same problem definately PSU
     
  9. Invictus

    Invictus Fourth Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,219
    Location:
    Cidade Maravilhosa
    Nope. Nor I have a friend that can lend me his. What a headache. I think I'm gonna have to leave it with the IT guy from work, for an outside job. Gonna cost me a pretty penny but better than no PC I guess. At least I have the documents to prove I bought it and I can ask either my money or a new one since it's still halfway through warranty. Thanks a lot for the help guys.
     
  10. Harry_J_Potter

    Harry_J_Potter Second Year

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Last thing, where is your pc plugged in? Directly to outlet? Surge protector? Or PSU? Although unlikely could you try plugging it into another outlet? Preferably on a different circuit breaker.
     
  11. Invictus

    Invictus Fourth Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,219
    Location:
    Cidade Maravilhosa
    Surge protector. I can plug it directly to the outlet? Don't have other surges or a psu.
     
  12. Harry_J_Potter

    Harry_J_Potter Second Year

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Not recommended for long time but to check if it's not your surge protector having problems. Or your outlet itself. Can you move it to a different room? Are you living in house or apartment? If house, move to different floor, so it's on different circuit for sure. That way we could rule out both your outlet and surge protector

    Edit: I'll check the tread tomorrow/today, I'm going to sleep, its almost 5am here
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2018
  13. Invictus

    Invictus Fourth Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,219
    Location:
    Cidade Maravilhosa
    Apartment. There is another circuit in the apartment yes. Gonna try moving .
     
  14. Invictus

    Invictus Fourth Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,219
    Location:
    Cidade Maravilhosa
    It was the PSU. Had it replaced. Cost me a pretty buck. Ugh. Apparently the problem regarding steam, specifically there was another problem regarding the GPU and its fan (Steam games didnt activate the fan to work as it should). So there were two issues. Yay.
    --- Post automerged ---
    I do have a problem, its weird, I'm using riva tuner and it says to me that, after I changed my frequency to 144Hz, I'm getting 1300-1400Hz, despite V-Sync on and me limiting via Riva the FPS to 141.
     
Loading...