1. Q3 - 2021 - Topic is AFTERMATH !
    The next competition topic is here! Go write, due end of September!
    Don't forget there's also a Flash Competition ongoing at present! Due in a few days!
    Click here for more!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

    Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. DLP Writing Competition - Voting !!
    FIFTEEN ENTRIES! Rock on. Voting via poll - leave a simple one paragraph review/comment on each story!
    Voting will be done via two Rounds (b/c polls don't do 15 choices)
    Click here to participate!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

    New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

    READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Computer Diagnosis Assistance PLZ

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Ched, Jun 7, 2021.

  1. Ched

    Ched Da Trek Moderator DLP Supporter ⭐⭐

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    The South
    Here are the parts (purchased 2017/2018 but for reasons we won’t examine not put together until 2020):
    • Ryzen 1600X
    • MSI Krait Gaming Mobo x370
    • TridentZ 3200 DDR4 RAM
    • Asus ROG 1070 Ti
    • Corsair Obsidian 450D case
    • Hyper T2 cooler
    • M2 hard drive w/Win10 Ed
    • Extra SSD
    • 750w modular platinum PSU
    About a month ago (after several months of working perfectly) the computer just cut off and wouldn’t come back on.

    I was in the middle of finals so I mostly ignored it, just periodically trying to turn it back on after trying minor things like reseating RAM. After about a week of not working, it randomly came back on with me not changing anything.

    It worked fine. While it was on I tested a handful of things - it was not over heating (confirmed with both software and by physically checking for heat - fwiw I’ve had various computers struggle with overheating and none of them acted like this one.

    The computer was on for more than a day. I set it up to do a memory check next time I restarted it. It crashed later while nothing was running except one instance of Word and Discord.

    The memory check ran when I turned it back on, found nothing, then didn’t finish booting and went back to never coming on.

    I haven’t been able to get it back on.

    The light on the video card comes on but doesn’t change from red to the set color of green-white. The caps lock key, etc. are stuck ‘on.’

    I’ve tried reseating the RAM. I tried doing a PSU test I found online and that seems to work. Would the lights and mem check have worked if this was the mobo?

    I’m just at a loss. Anyone have ideas?

    There aren’t really many computer repair options here and I’d prefer to fix it myself, but I’ve lost my passion for building computers and it just seems a massive chore.
     
  2. wordhammer

    wordhammer Dark Lord DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,859
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In the wood room, somewhere flat
  3. Ched

    Ched Da Trek Moderator DLP Supporter ⭐⭐

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    The South
    I bought the mobo before most of those reviews because I trusted the brand but that figures, ugh.

    I don’t know anything about changing a mobo battery. I can change the motherboard but honestly I’d probably sell the computer parts and buy a fresh machine from a custom shop at this point if I have to do that. I used to build because I couldn’t afford anything decent if I didn’t.

    I’ll look into how to change the battery. Thanks
     
  4. draykfyre

    draykfyre First Year DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    I've had a system suddenly appear dead for no reason before until I cleared the CMOS as a last resort. Looks like there's a jumper on your motherboard to do that, although removing the battery on the motherboard for a few minutes might do it too.
     
  5. Ched

    Ched Da Trek Moderator DLP Supporter ⭐⭐

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    The South
    @wordhammer @draykfyre - I reset the CMOS/mobo battery and it came on! Time will tell if it stays on this time, but I'm hopeful. At least I can get a few things off the computer.

    I did lose the last rewrite of my comp entry though, which was about 500 words I'd redone, since the auto-save didn't catch it (I was in the middle of writing when the initial crash occurred).

    And now my computer-tips-repertoire is one step larger.
     
  6. Ched

    Ched Da Trek Moderator DLP Supporter ⭐⭐

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    The South
    Well this started up again exactly the same. Resetting the battery didn’t work this go.

    I’m not sure what to do other than try replacing the mobo but that’s just so awful to do. Hate reseating CPUs too.

    Any other ideas apart from buying a new one? Hah.
     
  7. Sacro

    Sacro Groundskeeper

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Germany
    Reset your cmos again, either via reset headers or just taking out the battery for a bit, while the pc is disconnected from power. Once you did that, it should boot again. Once it's booting, *don't* set the XMP/DOCP profile for the RAM, bc this is prob an unstable mem/IF overclock, start windows and look if you got WHEA errors in the event viewer. If you do, it probably was the mem overclock, tho it could also be a CPU overclock.

    If you haven't yet, go grab the latest BIOS and install it, and after that you can try again. If you want to be more on the safe side then don't clock your RAM to 3200 again, but try 3000 or 2933 or something along those lines. Granted, I'm not *100%* sure that it's a memory/IF overclock doing this, but I had a very similar thing happen and it was the memory (tho granted that was with Ryzen 5000).

    You could also just let the RAM run at its default 2133 speed for a while and see if you got problems then, if yes it's def gonna be something else. In either case do the BIOS update first.
     
  8. Ched

    Ched Da Trek Moderator DLP Supporter ⭐⭐

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    The South
    I’m not over clocking though? The RAM has always been running at its default.

    Will try a lot of that - thanks. Reset got it going again but clearly there’s an underlying issue.
     
  9. Sacro

    Sacro Groundskeeper

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Germany
    With overclocking I just mean enabling the XMP/DOCP profile for the RAM (so that it runs at the advertised 3200 speed), which pretty much already counts as RAM overclocking. Now if you never had XMP/DOCP enabled (may be enabled by default) then ye I'd also say it's prob the mobo having some issues. Still worth trying the BIOS update, especially if you never updated it before, since there was a lot of stability improvements over the years.
     
  10. Ched

    Ched Da Trek Moderator DLP Supporter ⭐⭐

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    The South
    BIOS was updated in January this year but I’ll double check it and how I have the RAM set up. Thanks again
     
  11. Xiph0

    Xiph0 Yoda Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,435
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    West Bank
    Well now I'm invested in the mystery.
     
Loading...