1. Hi there, Guest

    Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

    New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

    READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Laptop output to 144hz?

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Relic, Oct 30, 2016.

  1. Relic

    Relic High Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    I just bought a laptop that has a 1070 in it with the intention of hooking up a 144 hz monitor to it. It doesn't have a dual link DVI which is what is typically used for this, but from what I've read online modern HDMI has the capability to carry 1080 resolution at 144 hz.

    Tried a bunch of things and it's not working. Anyone have experience with this? Everything I see on Google is a little old, or not really helpful.
     
  2. The Great Pandemonium

    The Great Pandemonium Fourth Year

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    MD
    Laptop and monitor links?

    To me it sounds like you need a Display Port cable. Thats how my 144hz monitor is hooked up. I'm not sure if hdmi can do 144hz.

    Edit: According to this Hdmi 1.4 and 2.0 can do 120hz @ 1080p but not 144hz.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
  3. Relic

    Relic High Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    It's weird some places say 120 hz is the cap but others say 144 is fine too, as it say here.
     
  4. Sacro

    Sacro Seventh Year

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Germany
    That website you linked is plainly wrong. Not only does HDMI not support 144Hz, but they also got the version that supports 120Hz wrong (which is 1.4 and higher). I hope that laptop has Displayport, otherwise you'll be stuck with using 120Hz.
     
  5. Relic

    Relic High Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Ah I see. It has a mini displayport but after further research my monitor only takes dual link DVI for 144 hz. Would a cable like this do the trick?
     
  6. Sacro

    Sacro Seventh Year

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Germany
    Are you 100% sure about this? Because that sounds very strange to me.

    No, this is a passive adapter and they won't give you anything above 60Hz. To get 144Hz, you'll need to get an active adapter, but even then it can be very hit and miss if it'll work correctly. Here's an example of one. Take note of the additional USB cable for power, since there are some active adapters without it and they won't work. As you can also see, they're rather expensive and if you read the reviews people have pretty mixed experiences with it.

    So check again if your monitor really only does 144Hz with DVI-D, because working with those adapters can be rather frustrating.
     
Loading...