1. Hi there, Guest

    Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

    New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

    READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

New Graphics Card - Need Help

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by Aekiel, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. Aekiel

    Aekiel Angle of Mispeling ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,268
    Location:
    One of the Shires
    High Score:
    9,373
    Okay, I'm upgrading my graphics card and need to know whether the ones I've picked out will work with the rest of my comp and whether I'd need to buy a new power supply for any of them.

    GeForce 9400 GT
    Radeon HD 4830
    Radeon 4770

    My current setup is:
    Acer Veriton M646
    Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E4700 @ 2.60GHz
    3GB DDR2 RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce 7050 / NVIDIA nForce 630i
    Windows Vista 32 bit OS
    250 Watts Power Supply (I think, is there a way to check without opening it up?)
     
  2. Johnny Farrar

    Johnny Farrar High Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    In front of a Computer.
    Are you sure that your SMPS is 250W, cause ususally they are 400W or 450W, especially considering your configuration.

    I am not much familiar with ATI's cards. However, the GeForce 9400GT works fine with a 400W SMPS, it should even work with a 250W one(not sure though).

    You could check the requirements for the cards, its ususally mentioned.

    My advice would be to check the GeForce 9500GT, the price between 94 and 95 is not that much and the later gives much better performance and runs fine with a 450W SMPS.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. Oz

    Oz For Zombie. Moderator DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    8,985
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Baile Átha Cliath
    ... I think you should check your PSU's wattage, Aek. ._.
     
  4. se7en

    se7en Professor

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    485
    Location:
    stump town
    You might need a new PSU before thinking about a graphics card.
     
  5. sincostan

    sincostan High Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    socal
    The wattage is usually clearly labeled on the box, otherwise steel yourself for hardcore googling any numbers you can find.
     
  6. Mercenary

    Mercenary Snake Eater

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    420blazitville
    PSU wattage is usually on the PSU itself. Mostly on the side. Depending on your tower you might have to actually remove the PSU to check the wattage. also 250 watts?
    I think I have a 300/400 and I only have a Core 2 Duo with an 8600 Geforce.
     
  7. Xiph0

    Xiph0 Stasi Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Caribbean Garbage Dump
    Fffffffff-

    I'm just gonna build my next box. Tired of upgrading this commercial p.o.s.
     
Loading...