1. Hi there, Guest

    Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

    New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

    READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Posting Issue

Discussion in 'Site Related Support' started by Evan Tide, Oct 9, 2015.

  1. Evan Tide

    Evan Tide Chief Warlock DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Location:
    So Cal
    Whenever I use the "Advanced Options" for posting, the site basic goes kaput. Still functions, can go to other pages and all that, but the post just sits there trying to post.

    I end up having to copy/paste the post into quick reply, submit there, wait for another infinite "trying to post" load, then open the site again in another tab to make sure it actually gets loaded.

    So think it's a possible site issue, an issue with my connection, or something else?

    Win10 and Firefox can't remember the version. Whatever the latest one is.

    EDIT: Posting a new thread works fine though.

    EDIT 2: Seems to only happen if I try using Advanced posting options first. If I go straight to quick reply, posts seem to go through fine.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2015
  2. redlibertyx

    redlibertyx Professor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    442
    Are you get a specific error message when the site goes down? I've recently been getting an "NSPOSIXErrorDomain:100" under similar circumstances (which may be causing the spate of double-posting I've been having recently?). I'm also getting the error when I try to use the search function.

    My own googling suggests it is some sort of SSL issue, but I lack any of the technical skills to actually know if that's true.

    I'm using Safari 9.0 (11601.1.56) on OS X 10.11. OP I suggest you post your operating system/browser info to help the admins troubleshoot the issue.
     
  3. Evan Tide

    Evan Tide Chief Warlock DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Location:
    So Cal
    Nah, the site isn't going down. It's just not posting and doing a "posting" message indefinitely.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2015
  4. ScottPress

    ScottPress The Horny Sovereign ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Holy Moose Empire
    High Score:
    1,826+3348
    So I'm not the only one. Posting Quick Reply takes super long and when it does finally load, it takes me to the "You have to wait 15 seconds before posting again" screen, as if I tried to doublepost, even though I just hit the button. Or when I want to confirm an edit, it's usually just quicker to reload the whole page or close the tab and open DLP in a new one rather than wait for the site to show me it did the thing.
     
  5. Joe's Nemesis

    Joe's Nemesis High Score: 2,058 ~ Prestige ~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,188
    High Score:
    2,058
    I haven't seen this yet. What browser are you using? Did it update lately?
     
  6. ScottPress

    ScottPress The Horny Sovereign ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Holy Moose Empire
    High Score:
    1,826+3348
    I use Opera and am up to date.
     
  7. Evan Tide

    Evan Tide Chief Warlock DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Location:
    So Cal
    Firefox here and also on latest update.
     
  8. Oz

    Oz For Zombie. Moderator DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    8,968
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Baile Átha Cliath
    Testing advanced reply.

    Edit: not a problem for me on chrome for android, makes me incline to believe its a Firefox issue.

    Someone mentioned an SSL issue above, but I think that's unrelated. From a quick Google that looks like it may be an issue with SPDY.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2015
  9. World

    World Oberstgruppenführer Moderator DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,254
    Location:
    Axis of Evil (Original)
    Had a similar problem which led to me either not posting or double-posting. I believe it was with Firefox as well.
     
  10. Klackerz

    Klackerz Bridgeburner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    India
    I am using the latest firefox and I haven't had any issues whatsoever in regards to posting recently. I am using Firefox in Linux.
     
  11. Zenzao

    Zenzao 500 Club King –§ Prestigious §– DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    In the eye of the storm
    High Score:
    1,864+2628
    I've started getting this on my desktop. Win8.1 and latest version of Firefox.

    EDIT: It tends to happen when I take upwards of five minutes writing a post before trying to submit it. Doing this one it went right through no problem, I just edited to add this note with no trouble as well.

    EDIT2: Disregard prior edit on timing. It does it when it wants. Don't know what is happening.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2015
  12. Lindsey

    Lindsey Minister of Magic DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,212
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Half the time posting is erroring out with a time out message (i'll copy it again if it happens).

    Sometimes it takes forever and I end up leaving the page (clicking on the banner), thinking it is going to fail... and instead it posts.


    I'm on Firefox, latest version, as well.
     
  13. Zenzao

    Zenzao 500 Club King –§ Prestigious §– DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    In the eye of the storm
    High Score:
    1,864+2628
    Just had it do this crap while sending a PM. Opened a new tab and checked my sent folder and it had gone through, but the original tab remained on the loading process until I closed it.
     
  14. ScottPress

    ScottPress The Horny Sovereign ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Holy Moose Empire
    High Score:
    1,826+3348
    What I want to know is why I seem to be the only person here using Opera.

    I'm sure my connection, with a mind of its own, is partially to blame, but the long post/edit/PM sending times happen at least a few times a day.
     
  15. Jon

    Jon The Demon Mayor Admin DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,802
    Location:
    Australia
    Are you guys using a vpn/ rerouting dns?
     
  16. Sauce Bauss

    Sauce Bauss Minister of Magic DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,335
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    Because a lot of Opera's userbase migrated after the change in engines. Its status as the best mobile browser ended after mobile data became much faster, so with those two things it's basically dying a slow death. Its share of the browser market is half of what it was three years ago, and it never cracked 4% of the market on its best day.
     
  17. Zenzao

    Zenzao 500 Club King –§ Prestigious §– DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    In the eye of the storm
    High Score:
    1,864+2628
    No to vpn, and I doubt it on dns. It's set to automatically work out its settings and I haven't changed any of that since I installed the router over a year ago.
     
  18. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw DLP Overlord Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,332
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    For now, use Chrome as a workaround. I'll post again when I've found the root cause of the issue.
     
  19. TheWiseTomato

    TheWiseTomato Prestigious Tomato ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Australia.
    High Score:
    3694
    Su evas su pleh namdam a si nevar.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2015
  20. Zenzao

    Zenzao 500 Club King –§ Prestigious §– DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    In the eye of the storm
    High Score:
    1,864+2628
    Urgh, I'll tolerate the issues rather than that, m'lord.

    EDIT: Speaking to Lord Ravenclaw. Also, no trouble via 3DS. Happy to wait it out.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2015
Loading...