1. Hi there, Guest

    Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

    New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

    READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

System spec thread

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by Midknight, Nov 14, 2005.

  1. LINKed up

    LINKed up Chief Warlock DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    A certain place in a certain area of space-time, a
    Mac OS 10.4.4
    700 MHz PowerPC G3
    384 MB SDRAM

    Thats all that I can give you. I'm probably the only Mac user here. :( I'm all alone.
     
  2. Tinder

    Tinder Seventh Year

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    262
    1.97 gHz Athlon.. or 2.02 ghz... depends how it's feeling.

    'bout a gig of RAM... I think half of it might be decent stuff, maybe kingston, the other half is shit.

    A 120 gig hdd... just your basic bog standard IDE.

    The gfx card is a geforce I think... 5700 fx maybe... I just had to stick in whatever was lying around the house when my Radeon died.

    Can't actually remember what the motherboard is... it's been ages since I put the thing together so it's all a blur.

    And I do remember that I was too cheap to buy a sound card, so I just use onboard sound. I'm practically deaf from excessive ipod (and before that discman) use anyway, so I wouldn't notice the difference.

    Having read this thread though, the suppressed geek in me is getting jealous and wants to go sign up for a credit card so I can compete.
     
  3. Opaque

    Opaque Squib

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Oregon
    P4 processor W/ Hyper Threding *yeah Hyperthreading* :p
    P4P800E Deluxe Motherboard
    Onboard Sound it's better than my old generic Motherboard Sound :puke:
    Geforce 8600 128 MB It came pre Overclocked
    1 Gig PC3200 Ram
    120GB Hard Drive
    Syncmaster 955Df It's a giant monster monitor, Weighs way too much

    A very nice setup if I do say so myself.
     
  4. Zevrillion

    Zevrillion Founder Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Laptop:
    CPU: AMD AthlonXP 3000+
    RAM: 512 MB
    HD: 40GB
    GCARD: Radeon 9000
    MONITOR: 15" 1024x768

    Desktop:
    CPU: AMD Dual Core 3800+
    RAM: PC3200 DDR-DIMM 2048MB
    HD: Samsung 80GB SATA2
    MOBO: Abit KN8-Ultra - nForce4 Ultra - Socket-939
    GCARD: Sapphire Radeon X1300
    CASE: Cooler Master Cavalier 3 - Black
    MONITOR: FSC 19" Widescreen 1440x900
     
  5. CGB

    CGB Auror

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Germany
    Pentium 4 3,4 GHz
    2046 MB RAM
    160 GB HD
    NVIDIA GeForce 5700 FX

    I can't remember more
     
  6. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw DLP Overlord Admin DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,353
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Laptop:
    Intel Pentium M 1.86ghz
    2gb PC2-4200 (533mhz) DDR2 Kingston RAM
    100gb Seagate Momentus 7200.1
    ATi Radeon Mobility x300 64mb
    Monitor 15.5" 1280x800

    Desktop:
    Intel Pentium 4 3ghz w/ HTT
    1gb Coursair XMS PC-3200 RAM
    BFG Tech GeForce 6800 GS OC 256mb
    2x 320gb Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (SATA2) in a RAID1 configuration
    120gb Seagate Barracuda (SATA) via USB enclosure.
    Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2
    17" LCD 1280x1024
     
  7. Lynn

    Lynn First Year

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    United States, Missouri
    My simple computer.

    3500+ AMD Sempron Processor
    512 MB Memory
    160 GB Hard Drive
    DVD/RW & CD-Rom
    Intergrated ATI Radeon Xpress 200
    PCI Express Slot
     
  8. Bungler

    Bungler Guest

    My crappy 5 year old soon to be junk computer then.

    AMD Athlon 1.8ish ghz prossesor
    256 MB RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce4 ti4200 64MB
    DVD/CD ROM
    80GB hard drive
    Sound: some crap

    Im starting to look for a brand new comp soon. I hope =P

    EDIT:hardrive to hard drive
     
  9. SLASH SUCKS

    SLASH SUCKS Backtraced

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Built in 2003 by me.

    Badass case with 4 fans i think.

    2.53 Ghz pentium 4
    1 Gig of Ram half kingston other half?
    Radeon 9500 pro vid card good at the time.
    80 gig 7200 rpm drive it's a western digital i think
    soundblaster live 5.1
    Bought a pvr 150 works good, but my burner is shit right now.

    I might upgrade once the new intel conroe chip comes out and Amd drops their prices to be competitve. I really want an amd in my next computer because they're better for gaming and cheaper too.

    I'll probably buy a sli board, but not sure if ill ever buy a second video card not sure if it will ever really be necessary. As of now, there isn't much of need for such a setup except maybe for Oblivion, but once the Vista comes out having a second video card might be dumb if the new OS is less of a strain than lets say xp. I'm just gonna wait it out for awhile I think.
     
  10. Lord Ravenclaw

    Lord Ravenclaw DLP Overlord Admin DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,353
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Knowing Microsoft, Vista will use more resources than XP.
     
  11. Midknight

    Midknight Middy is SPAI! DLP Supporter Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    8,958
    Location:
    NC
    My opinion on SLI:

    SLI right now is pointless and a waste unless you're going to be running massive resolutions with shittier cards, and still wanting to run the best games out now on full. I had a test PC given to my by a friend, with dual Geforce 6800s. I can max out Oblivion with that easy, we're talking full AA, everything.

    Going back to my normal PC with 1 Geforce 6800, the AGP version, I loose maybe 10 fps, and I can't crank up the shadows and FSAA to more then 4x. Overall, in a side by side comparision I did when I had the second rig, the difference wasn't noticable enough to warrant the extra couple hundred bucks for a SLI mobo and an extra card.

    That being said, the only game so far I'd preferred SLI in, was Battlefield 2, and that's only due to the detail in the game. 64 person matches, with multiple flying and ground vehicles, plus gunfire and explosions combined with 30+ high res characters on screen at once tends to clog one card. Now that game made use of almost all the 2 card's power, plus maxed out 2 gigs of RAM, it's a monster.

    The second card didn't make the game look any better, it just gave me an extra 5-10 fps which made a difference between stuttering whenever 5 places flew by and dropped bombs, and being able to see it incoming and run abit faster.

    I'd say buy a SLI board anyway, to future proof yourself, at least this way in the future, when games could out that will see a massive help from SLI, you can take 2 budget cards and run them, but for now I agree that it's just geeks feeling they need the newest and best


    Raven: I had the beta for Vista several weeks ago... to say that it used more resources then XP, would be like saying Vernon ate slightly more then Harry growing up.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2006
  12. Cervus

    Cervus Raptured to Hell

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    849
    Location:
    Manchester, England.
    These are the official system requirements from Microsoft.

    Vista Capable

    800MHz processor
    512 MB of system memory
    A graphics processor that is DirectX 9 capable

    Vista Premium

    1GHz 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
    1GB of system memory
    128MB of graphics memory
    40GB hard drive with 15GB free space
    DVD-ROM drive
    Audio output capabilities
    Internet access.

    Apparently most of the work will be done by the graphics card, I must admit, however, that I haven't really read that much about Vista, I'm not really interested. I've seen sites recommending at least 2GB of memory to be able to fully use Aero, however. I don't think I'll be getting Vista anyway, I think I'll me making the jump to Linux before then.

    On another note Microsoft has announced that they won't be releasing DirectX 10 on Windows XP, so when games start needing DirectX 10 XP won't be able to play them.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2006
  13. Amerision

    Amerision Galactic Sheep Emperor DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,541
    Location:
    The Gardens in the Desert Sand
    Laptop (Taken away at the moment by the school until fall):

    Intel Centrino 1.7 Ghz
    512 Mb RAM
    Intel Extreme Graphics
    Onboard Sound
    14 (or 13?) inch Monitor

    Desktop:

    P4 2.53 Ghz
    512 RAM
    Soundblaster 24 Bit
    ATI Radeon 9700 Ti (Overclocked of Course)
    20 inch monitor


    I miss my laptop...so hard to type on a keyboard...
     
  14. Midknight

    Midknight Middy is SPAI! DLP Supporter Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    8,958
    Location:
    NC
    I'd heard that too, a4s well as MS forcing a good number of game makers affliated with MS, to release games as Vista only. It'll be another forced upgrade to give the fuckers more money for a buggy barely working product
     
  15. Cervus

    Cervus Raptured to Hell

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    849
    Location:
    Manchester, England.
    I've just seen another couple of stories about DirectX 10 and it seems that Microsoft didn't announce it wouldn't be XP compatible, though they did refuse to comment on it. The original article I read had it quoted to a Microsoft official while all the others seem to be quoting it from an ATI guy.
     
  16. SLASH SUCKS

    SLASH SUCKS Backtraced

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    I hate direct x updates. The video cards for the new updates will be more expensive and usually don't work as good on the direct x 9 and lower games. So technically the consumer pays for a more expensive card and gets shittier results with most games, untill games start coming out that are Dx10.

    This is what happend with my Ati 9500 pro card it was getting beat by Nvidias cards that were for Dx8 and a hell of alot cheaper.
     
  17. Yarrgh!

    Yarrgh! Pirate King

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    Location:
    Purdue University, Indiana
    Laptop: (i'm getting a new one, so i'll post the specs for that)

    Centrino Duo 2 GHz (667 MHz FSB)
    2 GB DDR2 SDRAM (533 MHz)
    80 GB HD 7200 rpm
    256 MB Radeon X1400
    Creative Audigy Soundcard
    Dual-layer DVD writer/reader @ 16x, I think.

    Desktop at home:
    P4 3.06 GHz
    1 GB DDR2 RAM
    128 MB nVidia Graphics (dunno which card)
    100 GB HDD (5400 rpm)

    I don't really use the desktop much, which is why i don't know anything about it...there's two identical ones at home, and i have a laptop. This summer, though, i've ahd to use the desktop, as getting another connection set up for my laptop would be a hassle, and expensive.
     
  18. Scarty

    Scarty Denarii Host DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Germany
    AMD Athlon Winchester(Core) 3200+
    1 GB DDR2 SDRAM (533 MHz)
    160 GB HD 7200 rpm
    128 MB nVidia 6600GT
    ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
     
  19. dark.itachi

    dark.itachi First Year

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    PentiumĀ® D Processor 820 with Dual Core Technology (2.80GHz, 800FSB)

    Memory 2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz - 2 DIMMs

    Keyboard Dell USB Keyboard

    Monitor 19 inch E196FP Analog Flat Panel

    Video Card 256MB nVidia GeForce 7900 GS

    Hard Drive 250GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cacheā„¢

    woo hoo just got a new computer, its pretty good.
     
  20. Taure

    Taure Magical Core Enthusiast ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    High Score:
    13,152
    Finally got round to building myself a new system:

    Pentium dual core 3.00GHz processor (900 series)

    1GB DDRII Ram 667MHz

    256mb GeForce 7900GT overclocked

    160GB SATA HD 7200 rpm

    I'm quite happy with it at the moment - the dual core processing power is nice, running CS on full graphics at 1280x1024 in a window while browsing the web and listening to music smoothly is very satisfying after my previous PC.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2006
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Thaumologist
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    2,802
  2. Taure
    Replies:
    144
    Views:
    34,164
  3. Jon
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    2,820