1. Hi there, Guest

    Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice

Warcraft III: Reforged

Discussion in 'Gaming and PC Discussion' started by Nemrut, Nov 2, 2018.

  1. Erotic Adventures of S

    Erotic Adventures of S Denarii Host

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yeah it’s just, better. Like yeah, it’s sharper. But for a rerelease of this level, yeah, I expect more, way more.
     
  2. Innomine

    Innomine Order Member Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    819
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    High Score:
    4,500
    I think SC2 from 2010 looks better than what we have in the trailers atm.

    However, it may be different, as they are using the same engine etc. SO the tech might be still the same, but just a graphical rerelease which is limited in that context. Who knows.
     
  3. Jon

    Jon The Demon Mayor Admin DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562
    Location:
    Australia
    It's a remaster, not a remake.

    It's going to be cross compatible with the original release so there is only so much they -can- do before that breaks.
     
  4. Agayek

    Agayek Heir

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Of course sc2 looks better. That game has/had tech about a decade more advanced than WC3 has.

    Literally, what they're doing is taking existing wc3, making it compatible with modern hardware, and updating the models to modern standards. The lighting, shaders, renderer, etc, are all still the same code from 2000, to the point that you can take map files from the original WC3 and they'll work seamlessly with the new one. There is a hard upper limit on the graphical improvements possible in that case.

    Now, with that said, there's definitely an argument to be made that they should ditch that requirement and build a new engine and port WC3 over to that. And it's not one I would disagree with, being perfectly honest.

    But they've made their goals with this project pretty clear, and what they've shown is pretty damn good, within that context.
     
  5. Innomine

    Innomine Order Member Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    819
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    High Score:
    4,500
    I pretty much said exactly what you did, after the first line which you are responding too.

    And yeah, it makes sense, especially when you look at the system requirements, haha. However, if that's the case, I'm not sure that a $50 price tag is appropriate. Or, perhaps there should be some sort of discount if we have the original games tied to our bnet account.
     
  6. Agayek

    Agayek Heir

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    It's not $50. It's $30 for the game, and $40 for the version that includes the rewards in other games. In USD anyway.

    And yeah, I'd love it if they discounted it if you owned WC3, but it's Activision-Blizzard. They're never gonna do that. I'm frankly astonished that WoW classic isn't being charged extra for.
     
  7. Anarchy

    Anarchy Totally Sirius DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,302
    Location:
    NJ
    I think there's one simple reason for that. WC3 is a game that is still available to be played from them. Vanilla WoW isn't. As soon as they put a price tag, everyone will just go back to playing private servers, which is not something they want at all.
     
  8. Innomine

    Innomine Order Member Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    819
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    High Score:
    4,500
    I am not logged into my account, but maybe that's just NZ pricing anyway.

    Screen Shot 2018-11-05 at 8.05.22 AM.png
     
  9. Agayek

    Agayek Heir

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Ah. Yeah, that's the difference between the USD and NZD (either that or Blizzard pissing on Oceania again, which isn't uncommon). It's def $30 USD.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2018
  10. Gengar

    Gengar Polymagus Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,001
    High Score:
    6005
    No, everyone just needs to understand that the US gets stupid pricing for games, everywhere else is charged normally.

    Watch next gen games go up to $70-80USD.

    If that trickles down and increases our prices too? I'll fucking riot.
     
  11. Oment

    Oment The Betrayer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,993
    30 USD is just over 45 NZD atm. Minor bit of a premium, though you are - purely monetarily, not taking purchasing power etc into account - better off than EU on that account.

    Marketing (X9.99) and prices trickling down sound like decent scapegoats.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2018
  12. Agayek

    Agayek Heir

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Nah. That's not gonna happen because it threatens the scheme they've already got. They've already raised the price for complete games to somewhere in the $70-100 range, depending on the publisher, while still being able to cry poverty and have people on the internet champion their bullshit.

    If they actually raised that $60 fee point, they'd lose all that free pr that covers for their less egregious bullshit, so they're not going to do while they have other options.
     
  13. Gengar

    Gengar Polymagus Prestige DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,001
    High Score:
    6005
    We'll see. I've made my opinion on game pricing known in the past.
     
  14. Nazgus

    Nazgus Minister of Magic

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,256
    Location:
    USA
    First time I preorder something in a long long time. WC3 was one of my favorite games growing up, and I'm eager to play it again with updated graphics.
     
  15. Jaska

    Jaska Second Year

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Finland
    Will they keep the 12 unit command limit? Always annoyed me.
     
  16. Kensington

    Kensington Denarii Host DLP Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,343
    Location:
    West Coast
    I played the Stratholme mission in the demo. Although it was hard to get used to be limited to 12 troops at a time again, the game looked pretty damn good and more importantly felt damn good to play.

    What I found interesting is that they changed the map to make the city of Stratholme to reflect the layout you find in WoW. Plus, there were some new elite enemy units you could encounter if you destroyed the wrong houses.

    I already pre-ordered the game and I can't wait for it to come out next year.
     
Loading...