1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

Writing fanfiction

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Harry_J_Potter, Apr 10, 2013.

1. Harry_J_Potter

Harry_J_Potter Second Year

Big question, what is the most common mistake fanfiction writers make and how to avoid it?

Imagine I'm a noob and tell me everything

2. Skeletaure

Skeletaure Magical Core Enthusiast ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

High Score:
    Not writing.

Solution: write.

3. Ched

Ched Da Trek Moderator DLP Supporter ⭐⭐

I'll second Taure. If you want to write well then having a thick skin is a must, and many writers do not have one of those.

4. wordhammer

wordhammer Dark Lord DLP Supporter

Common fanfiction mistake: beginning a story without an end in mind.

As you're writing and getting feedback you might change your ending, but you'll never have a great story if it doesn't have an ending planned. What's more, if you have an epic (or otherwise emotionally satisfying) ending motivating you- one that you're itching to share with your readers- you're more likely to post regularly and overcome writer's block.

5. Shujin

Shujin Second Year

Don't get caught up in trying to avoid cliches or make your story "stand out" by throwing in features. What sets a story apart is the quality of the writing and how those cliches are used.

6. Jeram

Jeram Elder of Zion ~ Prestige ~ DLP Supporter

High Score: