1. DLP Flash Christmas Competition + Writing Marathon 2024!

Competition topic: Magical New Year!

Marathon goal? Crank out words!

Check the marathon thread or competition thread for details.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Hi there, Guest

Only registered users can really experience what DLP has to offer. Many forums are only accessible if you have an account. Why don't you register?
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Introducing for your Perusing Pleasure

New Thread Thursday
    +
    Shit Post Sunday

READ ME
    Dismiss Notice

New Computer Thread # 313

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Nemrut, Feb 22, 2014.

1. Nemrut

Nemrut The Black Mage ~ Prestige ~

High Score:
    So, my laptop that I have been using for the past 3 years has finally died, sort of. It still kinda works but it definitely has problems and it isn't reliable any more and I wanted to use this opportunity to finally get myself a new Desktop PC to use as my main device. Am not really all that knowledgeable on the PC buyers market though and which parts are good and which are not.

I won't be doing any fancy editing, art, programming or graphics work on it, so, my main three uses for a PC are gaming, writing and browsing the Internet, reading fanfics, tumblr and whatnot. The price range I would spent for this would be between 700 - 900 €, maybe even with a new monitor. Still, I wanted a device which is able to handle new games as they come out for a while, and run them on high at least for the next 2 years and maybe be upgradeable in the long run.

The thing is, I live in Germany, and if someone knows a site, a platform or a shop which is in Germany or at least ships their parts cheaply there, I would appreciate it.

What would your recommendation be?

Thanks for the help in advance.

2. Sacro

Sacro Groundskeeper

Mindfactory is pretty good.

Mainboard/Alternative if you don't plan on ever using more than one GPU
    CPU
    RAM
    SSD
    PSU
    HDD
    GPU